A Day In The Life of Callum Wadlan
  • 1st Aug 2019
  • Article written by Callum Wadlan
  • Share:

Summarise what your job is?

I am the Marketing assistant and run the firm’s website and social media. A lot of my job is updating the website with new articles and content as well as promoting the firm on our social media channels. A lot of this involves chasing solicitors for their articles that they should have written.

How do you get ready to start your day?

I usually start my day by waking up late. My alarm goes off on time but I always push the snooze button to get an extra 10 minutes in bed. I then usually walk into town and get some breakfast before making my way to work. When I arrive at work I load up all the webpages I need throughout the day, which includes our Website, Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.

What is your favourite part of the job?

My favourite part of my job is working on social media. I especially love working on Twitter and putting out new content. At Whitehead Monckton I’ve been allowed the freedom to express myself and try new ideas, some of which have worked and some haven’t. I also do enjoy chasing solicitors for work they need to give to me.  However, now that I have been in this role for a year most solicitors give me the work I require pretty quickly which saves me from having to nag them for it for days/weeks.

What is the most challenging part of your job?

The most challenging part is finding the balance to be professional on social media but also bring a unique character that makes us different from other law firms online. A lot of people also have strong opinions about social media and sometimes it can be hard to please everyone. I have come to the conclusion that I need to trust my instincts and go with what I believe will work.

How do you relax when you finish work?

After a long day stressing about something very minor on our website I like to walk home and watch TV. I’m not afraid to admit that I watch EastEnders. However on Tuesdays I go to Football training and coach an under 12s team. I also enjoy watching football so if there’s football on TV I’ll be watching it. I also attend every home game at Charlton Athletic and try to go to as many away games as I can.